News/ Article



Monday, 9 December 2019

Incorporated in the Republic of South Africa
(Registration number: 1924/002590/06)
Share code: AFE ISIN: ZAE000000220
Hybrid code: AFEP ISIN: ZAE000000238
Bond company code: AECI
("AECI" or "the Company" or "the Group")


AECI is pleased to announce the appointment of Messrs Stephen Dawson and Walter Dissinger as Independent Non-executive Directors of the Company, with effect from 1 January 2020.

Mr Dawson is Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Axieo Proprietary Limited (“Axieo”), in Australia.  Axieo provides agricultural, food and nutrition ingredients, industrial raw materials, raw materials for plastics production, paper, personal care, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, refrigerants, road chemicals, water treatment, rubber, coating, and cleaning products.

He has an Honours Degree in Mining Engineering, a Master’s Degree in Business Administration and he is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. 

Mr Dawson previously held senior global positions at Incitec Pivot Limited and prior to that, Dyno Nobel.  Earlier in his career, he worked in South Africa’s mining sector as well as at AECI, where he was an Operations and Marketing Manager in the Company’s Explosives business. 

Mr Dissinger was Chief Executive Officer of Votorantim Cimentos S.A. (“Votorantim”), in Brazil, until his retirement earlier this year after six years in that position.  Votorantim operates in the construction materials business and is one of the largest international companies in the sector. 

He has a Master’s Degree in Industrial Engineering.  Before leading Votorantim, he filled senior positions at BASF in South America and Europe.  In the latter years of his more than 20-year career with that company, his focuses were the agricultural products, health and nutrition businesses.

AECI welcomes them and looks forward to benefiting from their expertise and experience in business areas closely aligned with the Group’s strategic growth aspirations.

Resignation from the Board and its committees

Allen Morgan, an AECI Independent Non-executive Director since 2010, has advised the Board of his intention to retire from this position at the next Annual General Meeting of the Company’s shareholders, scheduled to be held on or about 26 May 2020.  At that time he will relinquish all his other Board responsibilities.  This includes chairmanship of the Risk Committee and the Mining Solutions Financial Review and Risk Committee, as well membership of the Audit, Investment and Social and Ethics Committees.

AECI thanks Mr Morgan most sincerely, in advance, for his valued input to the Company’s affairs during his nine-year tenure.

Change in significant responsibilities

Ms Fikile De Buck will join the Social and Ethics Committee as a Member on 1 January 2020.

Woodmead, Sandton
9 December 2019

Sponsor:  Rand Merchant Bank (A division of FirstRand Bank Limited)

Return to the previous page